745 W. 4th Ave., Suite 250 Anchorage, AK 99501
(907) 274-4621

DUI Defense

ANCHORAGE DUI OUI DWI & DRUNK DRIVING ATTORNEYS

dui_defence_pic

THE BEST DUI DEFENSE…

…is a good offense. Anchorage DUI Lawyers James Christie and Wally Tetlow have decades of experience aggressively defending misdemeanor and felony drunk driving charges, and know the steps required to maximize your chances of keeping your driver’s license and your liberty.

DUI charges are surprisingly complex; most involve forensic evidence in the form of breath or blood tests for the presence of alcohol or drugs, technical evidence in the form of field sobriety tests (FSTs) or drug recognition, and expert analysis and testimony at trial to establish the same.  A qualified and experienced Alaska DUI lawyer is essential to maximize your chances!

Alaska DUI Attorney Wally Tetlow has been certified by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration in the procedures and techniques utilized by police during the field sobriety tests, which is an invaluable resource in any DUI case.

There are many DUI lawyers in Anchorage; make sure you speak to a DUI attorney with the experience and familiarity with Alaska’s drunk driving laws to provide you with the best DUI defense.

Our Anchorage DUI lawyers offer free consultations.

ANCHORAGE DUI DEFENSE

Anchorage DUI Attorneys Wally Tetlow and James Christie are experienced Alaska drunk driving lawyers, having successfully handled hundreds of Alaska drunk driving defense cases over the course of their careers, from first DUI through felony DUI, vehicular assault and homicide.
A conviction for Operating Under the Influence (OUI) or Refusal to Provide Breath Sample, even on a first offense, carries significant penalties:

  • Minimum 72 hours of jail, with 1 year maximum
  • Minimum $1500 fine, with a maximum of $10,000
  • Mandatory revocation of driver’s license
  • Impoundment of your vehicle
  • Probation
  • Required alcohol safety classes
  • Expensive SR22 automobile insurance

If you or a loved one has been arrested or charged with an Alaskan DUI, immediate action is required to protect your driver’s license; the Alaska DMV performs an administrative revocation of your license only 7 days after your arrest. Even if you are later acquitted of the criminal charges, your license will be revoked after 7 days unless an administrative hearing is requested. Our Anchorage DUI attorneys have performed dozens of these hearings, and have frequent success in preventing the administrative revocation of driving privileges.

ALASKA DUI PENALTIES – 1ST DUI, 2ND DUI, 3RD DUI*

Alaska state law sets out the following penalties for Misdemeanor Drunk Driving – DUI – OUI – Operating a Motor Vehicle, Aircraft or Watercraft while under the influence of alcohol, inhalants, or controlled substances.  The same penalties apply for Refusal convictions.

Offense # Offense Class Min/Max Jail Min/Max Fine Cost of Imprisonment License Revocation Court Surcharge Interlock Device? SR22 Insurance?
1st DUI A Misdemeanor 72hrs/1year $1500/$10000 $330 90 Days $75 6 months 5 years
2nd DUI A Misdemeanor 20days/1year $3000/$10000 $1467 1 Year $75 12 months 5 years
3rd DUI* A Misdemeanor* 60days/1year* $4000/$10000* $2000 3 Years $75 18 months 5 years
4th DUI* A Misdemeanor* 120days/1year* $5000/$10000* $2000 5 Years $75 24 months 5 years
5th DUI* A Misdemeanor* 240days/1year* $6000/$10000* $2000 5 Years $75 30 months 5 years

Note: All misdemeanor DUI convictions require a drug and alcohol assessment through an approved treatment provider and further require compliance with the recommendations the provider, which may include residential treatment.

  *IMPORTANT:  A 3rd DUI within 10 years is considered a felony DUI, and is subject to the penalties listed below.

ALASKA FELONY DUI PENALTIES

<p >A third DUI or Refusal conviction within a ten year period is a felony DUI.  Alaska law sets out the following penalties for Felony DUI -Drunk Driving – OUI – Operating a Motor Vehicle, Aircraft or Watercraft while under the influence of alcohol, inhalants, or controlled substances.

Offense # Offense Class Min/Max Jail Min/Max Fine Cost of Imprisonment License Revocation Vehicle Forfeiture? Interlock Device? SR22 Insurance?
3rd DUIw/in 10yrs C Felony 4months/5years $10000/$50000 $Varies Lifetime Mandatory 30 months Mandatory
Fel. DUI + 1 Prior Felony C Felony 2years/5years $10000/$50000 $Varies Lifetime Mandatory 30 months Mandatory
Fel. DUI + 2 Prior Felony C Felony 3years/5years $10000/$50000 $Varies Lifetime Mandatory 30 months Mandatory